LibGuides: One Book, One Campus: 2021/2022: An American Sunrise

Welcome to the research guide for this year's One Book One Campus selection, An American Sunrise by Joy Harjo

Search the databases to find all library materials, including books, videos, and articles.

Library Catalog
Search the catalog to find all books -- including ebooks!

Suggested databases:

Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center provides up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Artemis Literary Sources
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 150,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Diversity Studies Collection
Access a collection of journals that explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community.

To find streaming videos:

Kanopy
Kanopy streams thousands of titles including classic cinema, documentaries, independent movies, and foreign films.
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 64,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Native American Voices by Susan Lobo; Steve Talbot; Traci L. Morris
ISBN: 0205633943
Publication Date: 2009-09-23
This is a collection of scholarly writing by Native American authors about the Native experience across a wide range of topics and approaches.
Native American Studies by Clara Sue Kidwell; Alan Velie; Robert Con Davis-Undiano (Introduction by)
ISBN: 0803227760
Publication Date: 2005-10-01
This introduction to the discipline of Native American Studies gives students a strong sense of the issues facing Native Americans past, present, and future.
Contesting Constructed Indian-Ness by Michael Taylor
ISBN: 0739178644
Publication Date: 2013-05-16
"Native American sports team mascots represent a contemporary problem for modern Native American people. The ideas embedded in the mascot representations, however, are as old as the ideas constructed about the Indian since contact between the peoples of Western and the Eastern hemispheres. Such ideas conceived about Native Americans go hand-in-hand with the machinations of colonialism and conquest of these people. This research looks at how such ideas inform the construction of identity of white males from historic experiences with Native Americans. Notions of "playing Indian" and of "going Native" are precipitated from these historic contexts such that in the contemporary sense of considering Native Americans, popular culture ideas dress Native Americans in feathers and buckskin in order to satisfy stereotypic expectations of Indian-ness." -- Publisher's description.

NPR item about An American Sunrise
A review of the book by NPR writer and poet Craig Morgan Teicher
National Endowment for the Arts' overview
Features a scholarly introduction to the book, a biography of the author, and a set of discussion questions useful for sparking classroom analyses, to generate research ideas or to spark curiosity about Native American cultures, the nature of poetry, or the ways in which the past influences the present and future.
The Native Arts and Cultures Foundation
a Native-led, 501 (c) 3 philanthropic organization dedicated exclusively to the perpetuation of American Indian, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian arts and cultures nationwide. Poet Laureate Joy Harjo is Founding Board Member
The National Congress of American Indians
founded in 1944, is the oldest, largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities.