You can find the services we offer at a distance via Zoom, Teams, and other internet-based methods on our remote services page.
Evening class instruction is available by request. To see if the RCC Library is closed on school holidays and semester breaks, please consult the Library Calendar.
857-701-1380
or via text at 857-877-2255
library1@rcc.mass.edu
1234 Columbus Avenue
Building 3, Room 211
Boston, MA 02120
This guide contains information on mass incarceration, memoirs, the prison system, racial inequality in the justice system, and One Book One Campus events happening in the library and at RCC. The tabs at the side of this page will direct you to information about books, articles, streaming videos, and online resources. If you have any trouble finding these sources, please ask a librarian for help.
Can't Catch a Break: Gender, Jail, Drugs, and the Limits of Personal Responsibility by 
Applied Crime Analysis by 
A World Apart: women, prison, and life behind bars by 
Justice While Black: helping African-American families navigate and survive the criminal justice system by 
Mass Incarceration on Trial by 
Locked down, Locked Out: Why Prison Doesn't Work and How We Can Do Better by 
Falling Back: incarceration and transitions to adulthood among urban youth by 
Cries for Help: women without a voice, women's prisons in the 1970s, Myra Hindley and her contemporaries by 
Revolution 2.0: the power of the people is greater than the people in power: a memoir by 
The Collected Autobiographies of Maya Angelou by 
The Year of Magical Thinking by 
The Man Who Couldn't Stop: OCD and the true story of a life lost in thought by 
The Psychopath Inside: a neuroscientist's personal journey into the dark side of the brain by This fall, the RCC library is offering an instruction session combining material from our Boston Black United Front (BBUF) collection with discussion about the One Book, One Campus selection, Orange is the New Black. Faculty are invited to bring their students to the library for a 30-45 minute session that includes general discussion about archives and primary and secondary sources, reading a 1970 letter from Deer Island inmates to the BBUF, completing a National Archives worksheet, and comparing incarceration issues in the letter to those in Orange is the New Black. I will also be showing students some highlights of the BBUF collection, including records of the Black Panther Party of Boston.
This session can be customized length or material-wise and is appropriate for any class studying Orange is the New Black or covering US History or Criminal Justice issues. The lesson plan, Deer Island inmate letter, National Archives worksheet, and some images from the BBUF collection are attached to this research guide. Please email me with any questions about this session, including scheduling and customizing it for your class. The BBUF records are the jewel of the RCC Archives and we would love to see more RCC classes take advantage of this rich resource.
Full length and segment videos from:
