Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG 101: English Composition I - Onuoha

Searching for Resources

If you'd like to search all of the library's resources at once, go to the library homepage and search in the RCC Library Search box. Click here to watch a video with more information about how to use this search box for broader searching.

If you'd like to search a more select set of resources that are likely to be particularly useful for your final paper, try the databases below.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Desktop view of Gale in Context database.

When doing research for this paper, the Opposing Viewpoints in Context database is likely to be particularly useful. This database is divided into curated sections that provide a variety of viewpoints on many different current issues.

The links below will each bring you to a page that provides lists of sources that address a specific issue. You can use the "search within results" box to search for something more specific about the topic highlighted. For example, on the page that addresses online education, you might try searching "community colleges" if you want to investigate how other community colleges are approaching online learning. Click on the title of a resource to access it. Once you've done so, you can use the "cite" button at the top of the page to generate an automatic citation for that resource to add to your works cited page.

Below is just a sampling of the issues you can research in Opposing Viewpoints in Context. To browse the entire list of topics covered in this database, click here.

Global Issues in Context

Global Issues in Context Database

If you're interested in a topic that reaches beyond the borders of the United States, you may want to explore the Global Issues in Context database. This database works the same was as Opposing Viewpoints in Context, but it has a more international outlook, meaning that it presents many issues that aren't in Opposing Viewpoints. It also approaches the issues that bridge both databases with an eye to how they're being discussed around the world.