Professor Rhonda Gray
she/her/hers
rgray@rcc.mass.edu
Roxbury Community College
You can find the services we offer at a distance via Zoom, Teams, and other internet-based methods on our remote services page.
Evening class instruction is available by request. To see if the RCC Library is closed on school holidays and semester breaks, please consult the Library Calendar.
857-701-1380
or via text at 857-877-2255
library1@rcc.mass.edu
1234 Columbus Avenue
Building 3, Room 211
Boston, MA 02120
Melyssa Ford The Liberation of Aunt Jemima, by Betye Saar Aunt Esther in Sanford and Son
Scholarly articles are excellent sources of information for your research paper. Use the databases below to locate peer-reviewed scholarly articles on the angry black woman stereotype. If you are off campus, you may need to enter your library barcode for access. Remember to use key words when searching!
Real Sister: Stereotypes, Respectability, and Black Women in Reality TV by 
Unbought and Unbossed by 
Sister Citizen by Ebony: Entertainment & Culture - A subsection of the magazine that provides information on issues relevant to black women.
Huffington Post: Black Voices - A subsection of the news and entertainment magazine that focuses on issues relevant to African-Americans.
NewsOne - News and information for and about blacks in America.
The Root - A web magazine that focuses on African-American issues including the media, Hollywood, and politics.
The Source - A hip hop news and culture magazine covering the latest trends.
XXL - A hip hop news and lifestyle magazine.
Scholarly articles are excellent sources of information for your research paper. Use the databases below to locate peer-reviewed scholarly articles on the mammy stereotype. If you are off campus, you may need to enter your library barcode for access. Remember to use key words when searching!
Here are some specific academic articles that are relevant to the mammy stereotype:
Search for books in the HELM catalog. If there is a book you would like to borrow that RCC does not own, fill out the interlibrary loan request form. We'll do our best to borrow the book from another library for you!
Real Sister: Stereotypes, Respectability, and Black Women in Reality TV by 
Mammy and Uncle Mose: Black Collectibles and American Stereotyping by Check the Library's newspaper databases and other sources for popular information on use of the mammy stereotype:
Here are some specific popular articles that are relevant to the mammy stereotype:
Apollo: The International Art Magazine - Apollo is one of the world’s oldest and most respected magazines on the visual arts. It covers everything from antiquities to contemporary work, as well as providing in-depth discussion of the latest art news and debates.
CNN - A general news outlet that reports on a wide variety of issues.
Ebony: Entertainment & Culture - A subsection of the magazine that provides information on issues relevant to black women.
The Hollywood Reporter - Reporting on current events in the movie industry, film culture, and film business.
Huffington Post: Black Voices - A subsection of the news and entertainment magazine that focuses on issues relevant to African-Americans.
NewsOne - News and information for and about blacks in America.
The Root - A web magazine that focuses on African-American issues including the media, Hollywood, and politics.
Scholarly articles are excellent sources of information for your research paper. Use the databases below to locate peer-reviewed scholarly articles on the angry black woman stereotype. If you are off campus, you may need to enter your library barcode for access. Remember to use key words when searching!
Here are some specific academic articles that are relevant to the angry black woman stereotype:
Contested Images: Women of Color in Popular Culture by 
Real Sister: Stereotypes, Respectability, and Black Women in Reality TV by 
Toms, Coons, Mulattoes, Mammies, and Bucks: An Interpretive History of Blacks in American Films by Sister Citizen by Check the Library's newspaper databases and other sources for popular information related to the angry black woman stereotype:
Here are some specific popular articles that are relevant to the angry black woman stereotype:
Apollo: The International Art Magazine - Apollo is one of the world’s oldest and most respected magazines on the visual arts. It covers everything from antiquities to contemporary work, as well as providing in-depth discussion of the latest art news and debates.
CNN - A general news outlet that reports on a wide variety of issues.
Ebony: Entertainment & Culture - A subsection of the magazine that provides information on issues relevant to black women.
The Hollywood Reporter - Reporting on current events in the movie industry, film culture, and film business.
Huffington Post: Black Voices - A subsection of the news and entertainment magazine that focuses on issues relevant to African-Americans.
NewsOne - News and information for and about blacks in America.
The Root - A web magazine that focuses on African-American issues including the media, Hollywood, and politics.
