Find Articles

Search the databases to find articles, books, and streaming videos from the library.

Find information under the topics below.

The Great Migration
Employment Opportunities for African-Americans in Northern Cities in 1950’s
Racism in Major League Baseball – Jackie Robinson
Negro Baseball Leagues
Post-Slavery Share-Cropping System
Teen/Young Adult Identity Development
African-American Father/Son Relationships
Overcoming Betrayal in a Marriage
Effects of Domestic Violence on Children
The Harlem Renaissance the Rise of Black Artistry
African-American Veterans of World War II

Search Tips:

You will need to do multiple searches in multiple areas (the web, databases, magazines, etc)
Do not use more than 2-3 keywords
When searching for a specific phrase, use " "
Think of alternative words and phrases to use in your searches

Popular Literature vs. Scholarly Peer-Reviewed Literature: What's the Difference?

Purpose

Academic: To communicate research and scholarly ideas
Popular: To inform and entertain the general reader

Audience

Academic: Scholars and students
Popular: The general public

Scope

Academic: Very narrow and specific subjects
Popular: Broad variety of public interest topics, cross disciplinary

Authors

Academic: Scholars, researchers, experts, usually listed with their institutional affiliation
Popular: Employees of the publication, freelancers (including journalists and scholars)

Characteristics

Academic

Little or no background information given
Technical language and discipline-specific jargon
Peer reviewed
Bibliography/References/Citations included
Procedures and materials often described in detail
Articles are longer, often over 5 pages

Popular

Little technical language or jargon
Few or no cited references
No bibliography
General summaries of background information
Contain numerous advertisements
Articles are usually brief; between 1-7 pages.

Source: https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/scholarly_articles

All Databases
Click this link to search all library Databases.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is a one-stop source for information on today's relevant and controversial social issues. It features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, podcasts, and links to websites.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database with nearly 480 full text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
African American Experience
African American Experience is the widest-ranging and easiest-to-use online collection on African American life ever assembled. This database is the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Credo Reference
Credo Reference provides access to hundreds of in-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject from accounting to art history, and Shakespeare to Einstein.

ENG 102: English Composition II - Tangvik

You can now chat with us by text message!

Text (857) 877 - 2255 to chat with a librarian.

Your carrier's text rates may apply.

Spring 2025 Library Hours

Monday - Thursday: 8:30 am - 9:00 pm

Friday: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm

Saturday: 8:30 am - 4:00 pm

Sun. CLOSED

Contact Us