Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG 102: English Composition II - Gomes: Civil Rights History

RCC Library

1234 Columbus Avenue
Building 3, Room 211A
Boston, MA 02120
Phone: 857-701-1380
Email: library1@rcc.mass.edu

Search the Web

Google Web Search

Websites

Databases

The databases below focus specifically on topics relating to civil rights history.

Newspaper Databases

These newspaper and magazine databases include articles dating back decades, so you may be able to find articles about the person you're researching from the time when they were participating in civil rights activism.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias can be useful for getting an overview of an issue or a brief biography of a person.

Archives

Archives are original materials like letters, newspapers, posters, and interviews that, when put together, tell a story about the past. The archives at RCC include two collections about civil rights history, the Mel King Mayoral Campaign Records and the Boston Black United Front Records. You can learn more about these materials on the archives' website. If you're interested in using them for your paper, contact Julia Greider at jgreider@rcc.mass.edu.

Subject Guide

Julia Greider's picture
Julia Greider
Contact:
Roxbury Community College Library
Academic Building Room 211
1234 Columbus Ave.
Boston, MA 02120
(857) 701-1387

Library Hours

Library Hours

On Campus Hours

By reservation only!

Monday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Tuesday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Wednesday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Thursday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Friday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Saturday: CLOSED

Sunday: CLOSED

Virtual Hours

Monday: 8:30 - 8:00 pm
Tuesday: 8:30 - 8:00 pm
Wednesday: 8:30 - 8:00 pm
Thursday: 8:30 - 8:00 pm
Friday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm
Saturday: 8:30 - 3:00 pm

You can find the services we offer at a distance via Zoom, Teams, and other internet-based methods on our remote services page.

 

Evening class instruction available by request. To see if the RCC Library is closed on school holidays and semester breaks, please consult the Library Calendar.

Contact Us

857-701-1380

or via text at 857-877-2255

library1@rcc.mass.edu

1234 Columbus Avenue
Building 3, Room 211
Boston, MA 02120