Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Educators Reference Complete
Under the keywords, classroom management and community colleges, there are 102 full-text articles.
ERIC, the U.S. Department of Education Educational Resource Information Center database, contains citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests.
Professional Development Collection
Professional Development Collection provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 440 full-text journals, designed for professional educators.
Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 64,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Classroom Management: 32 videos; Education Documentary: 165 videos
The Global Challenge to Educate
"Borrowing or benchmarking one national education system against another is not necessarily a remedy or the most useful analytical tool for educational reform, yet these are among the most common approaches. Begin to understand why this approach falls short as Professor Wiseman lays out his general thesis for the course."
American Association of Community Colleges
Resources for community college educations
Center for the Analysis and Postsecondary Readiness
The Center for the Analysis of Postsecondary Readiness (CAPR) is a research center funded by a grant from the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences to study developmental education and provide evidence for promising reforms. Established in 2014, CAPR is a partnership of two organizations—the Community College Research Center (CCRC) at Teachers College, Columbia University, and MDRC—as well as additional research scholars from several universities.
Librarian Live Chat
You can now text us from your phone for assistance!
Text (857) 877 - 2255 to chat with a librarian
Your carrier's text rates may apply.
1234 Columbus Avenue
Building 3, Room 211A
Boston, MA 02120
Success at RCC
Welcome to the research guide for Success at RCC. This guide contains information on the classroom management, conflict resolution, and learning styles. The tabs at the top of this page will direct you to information about books, articles, streaming videos, and online resources. If you have any trouble finding these sources, please ask a librarian for help.
Working with Students in Community Colleges by
Publication Date: 2014
"This timely volume addresses the urgent need for new strategies and better ways to serve community colleges’ present and future students at a time of rapid diversification, not just racially and ethnically, but including such groups as the undocumented, international students, older adult learners and veterans, all of whom come with varied levels of academic and technical skills The contributing researchers, higher education faculty, college presidents, and community college administrators provide thorough understanding of student groups who have received scant attention in the higher education literature. They address the often unconscious barriers to access our institutions have erected and describe emerging strategies, frameworks, and pilot projects that can ease students’ transition into college and through the maze of the college experience to completion. They offer advice on organizational culture, on defining institutional outcomes, on aligning shifting demographics with the multiple missions of the community college, on strengthening the collaboration of student and academic affairs to leverage their respective roles and resources, and on engaging with the opportunities afforded by technology. Divided into three parts – understanding today’s community college campuses; supporting today’s community college learners; and specialized populations and communities – this book offers a vision and solutions that should inform the work of faculty, administrators, presidents, and board members."
Teaching Science in the Two-Year College by
Publication Date: 2003
"Two-year colleges are critical to science educations futurein fact, some data indicate that half of future science teachers will take their first years of science at a two-year school. To address the unique challenges of this special setting, Teaching Science in the Two-Year College presents 24 articles featuring the most useful and relevant insights and advice from NSTAs Journal of College Science Teaching. The collection is divided into four sections, all written from the two-year college perspective: An Overview of the Uniqueness of Teaching Science in a Two-Year College examines the isolation faculty members experience, the science anxiety many students feel, the special issues of part-time faculty, staffing crises, and the value of forming a partnership with the counseling department. Curricular Issues includes the importance of the National Science Education Standards; fresh approaches to designing courses for nonscience majors; key methodological and content-oriented ingredients; teaching strategies for adult learners; and case studies about a community-oriented science-learning activity and an integrated science course for nonscience majors. Teaching Strategies covers the hazards of lecture courses, the challenges and rewards of student-centered instruction, and case studies for teaching everything from biology to the value of science. Using Information and Communication Technologies looks at computerized quizzes in the classroom and developing, adapting, and evaluating distance learning for science students."
John Dewey and the Future of Community College Education by
Call Number: LB2328.15 .U6H37 2015
Publication Date: 2014
"In John Dewey and the Future of Community College Education, Cliff Harbour argues that before these questions can be answered, community colleges must articulate the values and priorities that will guide them in the future. Harbour proposes that leaders across the institution come together and adopt a new democracy-based normative vision grounded in the writings of John Dewey, which would call upon colleges to do much more than improve completion rates and expand educational opportunity. It would look beyond the national economic measures that dominate higher education policy debates today and would prioritize individual student growth and the development of democratic communities. Harbour argues that this, in turn, would help community colleges contribute to the vital work of reconstructing American democracy."
Making Time for Project-Based Learning by
Call Number: LB1065 .J75 2015
Publication Date: 2014
"Careers in the 21st century are changing, but traditional education methods are not preparing students for these new jobs and demands. In this thought-provoking book, esteemed educator A.J. Juliani describes how we need to modify our classrooms to instill in students the drive for inquiry and innovation that they will need to succeed beyond school doors. Juliani reveals the ways that teachers can use Google’s 20% Time, Genius Hour, and Project-Based Learning to make students more creative, inquisitive, engaged in learning, and self-motivated―the kind of people we need to move society forward! He offers easy ways to implement these ideas while meeting the Common Core and still allowing plenty of time for content instruction."
Redesigning America's Community Colleges by
Call Number: LB2328 .B26 2015
Publication Date: 2015
"In the United States, 1,200 community colleges enroll over ten million students each year―nearly half of the nation’s undergraduates. Yet fewer than 40 percent of entrants complete an undergraduate degree within six years. This fact has put pressure on community colleges to improve academic outcomes for their students. Redesigning America’s Community Colleges is a concise, evidence-based guide for educational leaders whose institutions typically receive short shrift in academic and policy discussions. It makes a compelling case that two-year colleges can substantially increase their rates of student success, if they are willing to rethink the ways in which they organize programs of study, support services, and instruction.
Community colleges were originally designed to expand college enrollments at low cost, not to maximize completion of high-quality programs of study. The result was a cafeteria-style model in which students pick courses from a bewildering array of choices, with little guidance. The authors urge administrators and faculty to reject this traditional model in favor of “guided pathways”―clearer, more educationally coherent programs of study that simplify students’ choices without limiting their options and that enable them to complete credentials and advance to further education and the labor market more quickly and at less cost."
Understanding Poverty in the Classroom by
Call Number: LB1062.6 .T46 2011
Publication Date: 2011
"People who live in poverty consider life in different ways than those who have adequate basic resources. Many educators tend to see the world through their middle-class worldview. Because of this, they do not understand these significant and often rational differences. They may misinterpret behavior they see and ascribe negative connotations to how their students are reacting. Their assumptions can affect the quality of both the teaching and the learning that happens. Most teachers have real passion for educating their students but their experiences limit how they relate to the challenges some of their students face daily.
Understanding Poverty in the Classroom:
* Identifies perceptual differences
* Teaches strategies to address the special needs of children from poverty
* Encourages teachers to learn about the neighborhoods where their students live and what to look for in those areas
* Confronts myths about poverty and reinforces learning with specific illustrations
This resource is interactive with exercises that increase the reader's learning and provides specific tools to improve the educational process for teachers, students, and parents."
Handbook of Educational Psychology by
Call Number: LB1051 .H2354 2016
Publication Date: 2015
"The third edition of the Handbook of Educational Psychology is sponsored by Division 15 of the American Psychological Association. In this volume, thirty chapters address new developments in theory and research methods while honoring the legacy of the field’s past. A diverse group of recognized scholars within and outside the U.S. provide integrative reviews and critical syntheses of developments in the substantive areas of psychological inquiry in education, functional processes for learning, learner readiness and development, building knowledge and subject matter expertise, and the learning and task environment. New chapters in this edition cover topics such as learning sciences research, latent variable models, data analytics, neuropsychology, relations between emotion, motivation, and volition (EMOVO), scientific literacy, sociocultural perspectives on learning, dialogic instruction, and networked learning. Expanded treatment has been given to relevant individual differences, underlying processes, and new research on subject matter acquisition.
The Handbook of Educational Psychology, Third Edition, provides an indispensable reference volume for scholars in education and the learning sciences, broadly conceived, as well as for teacher educators, practicing teachers, policy makers and the academic libraries serving these audiences. It is also appropriate for graduate level courses in educational psychology, human learning and motivation, the learning sciences, and psychological research methods in education and psychology."