Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

One Book, One Campus: Using the Special Collections

Boston Black United Front

This fall, the RCC library is offering an instruction session combining material from our Boston Black United Front (BBUF) collection with discussion about the One Book, One Campus selection, Orange is the New Black. Faculty are invited to bring their students to the library for a 30-45 minute session that includes general discussion about archives and primary and secondary sources, reading a 1970 letter from Deer Island inmates to the BBUF, completing a National Archives worksheet, and comparing incarceration issues in the letter to those in Orange is the New Black. I will also be showing students some highlights of the BBUF collection, including records of the Black Panther Party of Boston.

This session can be customized length or material-wise and is appropriate for any class studying Orange is the New Black or covering US History or Criminal Justice issues. The lesson plan, Deer Island inmate letter, National Archives worksheet, and some images from the BBUF collection are attached to this research guide. Please email me with any questions about this session, including scheduling and customizing it for your class. The BBUF records are the jewel of the RCC Archives and we would love to see more RCC classes take advantage of this rich resource.

BBUF Statement of Purpose