Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African American History: Web Resources

Librarian Live Chat

chat loading...

You can now text us from your phone for assistance!

Text (857) 877 - 2255 to chat with a librarian

Your carrier's text rates may apply.

RCC Library

1234 Columbus Avenue
Building 3, Room 211
Boston, MA 02120
Phone: 857-701-1380
Email: library1@rcc.mass.edu

Search the Web

Google Web Search

Web Resources

African American OdysseyAn exhibit developed by the Library of Congress, African American Odyssey provides online access to "more than 240 items, including books, government documents, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, plays, films, and recordings."

Museum of African American History Located in Boston and Nantucket, "The Museum of African American History is dedicated to preserving, conserving and accurately interpreting the contributions of African Americans in New England from the colonial period through the 19th century." The website includes information on current or upcoming events and exhibits, as well as the Black Heritage Trail, "a walking tour that explores the history of Boston's 19th century African American community."

Civil Rights Digital Library The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. It includes 1,000s of multi-media materials; including: a collection of unedited news film from the WSB and WLB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries. The CRDL provides educator resources and contextual materials, including Freedom on Film, relating instructive stories and discussion questions from the Civil Rights Movement in Georgia, and the New Georgia Encyclopedia, delivering engaging online articles and multimedia.

The Crisis Magazine--Google Archive Read full-text back issues of the The Crisis magazine for years 1910-2008. The Crisis is the official magazine of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) and was founded by W.E.B. Du Bois in 1910.

W.E.B.Du Bois Institute (Harvard University) Named after the first African American to receive a Ph.D. from Harvard University (1895) and directed by Henry Louis Gates, Jr., the Du Bois Institute is the nation's oldest research center dedicated to the study of the history, culture, and social institutions of Africans and African Americans. The site includes the famed "Hip Hop Archive," photo archive of African Americans, and publications and projects.

Bio: Black History Hosted by the A&E television network, www.biography.com is a resource for biographies, photos, videos, study guides and links to groups of African-Americans throughout our nation's history.

Smithsonian Institute Learning Labs: Black History     A collection of Smithsonian Learning Labs about a wide range of topics related to Black history.

National Archives: African American History     The National Archives site has a wealth of resources related to African American history, from primary source documents to video recordings and photographs from throughout history.

The Center for Black Educator Development: Black Educator Stories      This page has stories of influential and important Black educators from throughout history.

Article: "The Overlooked History of Black Disabled People"      This article focuses on prominent Black historical figures who were disabled.

Subject Guide

William Hoag's picture
William Hoag
Contact:
Roxbury Community College Library
Room 211 Academic Building
1234 Columbus Ave.
Boston, MA 02120-3400
Phone: 857-701-1386
Website

Library Hours

Library Hours

On Campus Hours

By reservation only!

Monday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Tuesday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Wednesday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Thursday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Friday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Saturday: CLOSED

Sunday: CLOSED

Virtual Hours

Monday: 8:30 - 8:00 pm
Tuesday: 8:30 - 8:00 pm
Wednesday: 8:30 - 8:00 pm
Thursday: 8:30 - 8:00 pm
Friday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm
Saturday: 8:30 - 3:00 pm

You can find the services we offer at a distance via Zoom, Teams, and other internet-based methods on our remote services page.

 

Evening class instruction available by request. To see if the RCC Library is closed on school holidays and semester breaks, please consult the Library Calendar.

Contact Us

857-701-1380

or via text at 857-877-2255

library1@rcc.mass.edu

1234 Columbus Avenue
Building 3, Room 211
Boston, MA 02120