Linking to the Library's Electronic Resources: Home

You can now text us from your phone for assistance!

Text (857) 877 - 2255 to chat with a librarian

Your carrier's text rates may apply.

1234 Columbus Avenue
Building 3, Room 211A
Boston, MA 02120
Phone: 857-701-1380
Email: library1@rcc.mass.edu

As more and more of the library's resources go online, it is important that the correct links to the resources be provided to the students so that access will not be denied. Whether you link to a resources from Moodle, MyRCC or a website, a EZproxy prefix must be put into the link to access restricted resources off campus.

What is EZproxy?
Ezproxy is a web proxy server that the library uses to allow access to restricted resources like database, ebooks and streaming video. When a student clicks on a link from off campus, a webpage asks for the user's library barcode. Ezproxy authenticates the barcode and allows access to the resource.

What does the EZproxy prefix look Like?

http://ezproxyrcc.helmlib.org/login?url=

When and how do I use the EZproxy prefix to link to resources?
You should use the EZproxy prefix to link to library resources that need authorization off campus. The prefix can be used in Moodle, MyRCC and anywhere else you would put a link, like a word document or a PDF.
Some types of resources that need the EZproxy prefix are:

• Database
• Articles from databases
• Ebooks
• Streaming videos

Note: All of these links work if you are on campus, however only the links with the EZproxy prefix will work off campus.

General

If you want to link to a resource and allow it to be accessible off campus, you must include the EZproxy prefix.
Example (Note: This is a fictitious link, it does not work.)
If the resource's link is:
http://www.myresource.edu
You would put the EZproxy prefix (http://ezproxyrcc.helmlib.org/login?url=) in front of the database address like this:
http://ezproxyrcc.helmlib.org/login?url=http://www.myresource.edu

Databases

Example 1
If you wanted to link to Medline and the database link is:
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip&profile=ehost&defaultdb=cmedm
You would put the EZproxy prefix (http://ezproxyrcc.helmlib.org/login?url=) in front of the database address like this:
http://ezproxyrcc.helmlib.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip&profile=ehost&defaultdb=cmedm

Cheat
You can get the database link with the EZproxy prefix already in it by copying from our database page.

Example 2

If you wanted to link to article in a database and the permanent link is :
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=cmedm&AN=12899554&site=ehost-live

Then you would put the Ezproxy prefix infront of the article address like this:
http://ezproxyrcc.helmlib.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=cmedm&AN=12899554&site=ehost-live

Ebooks

Example 1

Ebrary

Ebrary is a little different than the other ebook vendors we have. Ebrary assumes that we have a EZproxy server and therefore does not need the EZproxy prefix included in the link (although it does not hurt to put the EZproxy prefix in the link as it will still work). So it is very simple to copy the link.

Example 2
If you wanted to link to a EBSCO or CREDO ebook and the link is:
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=211114&site=ehost-live

Then you would put the Ezproxy prefix infront of the ebook address like this:
http://ezproxyrcc.helmlib.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=211114&site=ehost-live

Cheat
You can copy the ebook link with the EZproxy prefix already in it by copying it right from our catalog page.

Academic Videos Online (Streaming Video)

Linking to video is very easy. Each title or video segment has a unique link with the EZproxy prefix already in it. You just have to copy the link.

Please do not hesitate to contact library staff if you have any problem linking to the library's resources.

Research guide updated on 11/18/14 by Wiliam Hoag: whoag@rcc.mass.edu

Library Hours

On Campus Hours

By reservation only!

Monday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Tuesday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Wednesday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Thursday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Friday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Saturday: CLOSED

Sunday: CLOSED

Virtual Hours

Monday: 8:30 - 8:00 pm
Tuesday: 8:30 - 8:00 pm
Wednesday: 8:30 - 8:00 pm
Thursday: 8:30 - 8:00 pm
Friday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm
Saturday: 8:30 - 3:00 pm

You can find the services we offer at a distance via Zoom, Teams, and other internet-based methods on our remote services page.

Evening class instruction available by request. To see if the RCC Library is closed on school holidays and semester breaks, please consult the Library Calendar.

Contact Us

857-701-1380

or via text at 857-877-2255

library1@rcc.mass.edu

1234 Columbus Avenue
Building 3, Room 211
Boston, MA 02120