Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Drug and Alcohol Abuse: Web Resources

Librarian Live Chat

chat loading...

You can now text us from your phone for assistance!

Text (857) 877 - 2255 to chat with a librarian

Your carrier's text rates may apply.

RCC Library

1234 Columbus Avenue
Building 3, Room 211
Boston, MA 02120
Phone: 857-701-1380
Email: library1@rcc.mass.edu

Search the Web

Google Web Search

Web Resources

General

Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration: This clearinghouse of government published information about drugs provides a good starting point for research.

MedlinePlus: Drug Abuse: Entryway to all kinds of medical information about drug abuse.

Drug Enforcement Administration: Drug Fact Sheets: The US Drug Enforcement agency provides fact sheets about the most commonly abused illegal drugs in the United States.

Office of National Drug Control Policy: Includes fact sheets on a number of illegal drugs.

Alcohol

Mayo Clinic: Alcoholism: This guide to alcoholism provides a good summary of the medical effects of alcoholism.

Medline Plus: Alcoholism:This website from the US National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health about alcohol abuse.

Club Drugs

National Institute on Drug Abuse: Club Drugs: General information about club drugs, including research reports, fact sheets and statistics about club drug use.

MedlinePlus: Club Drugs: A portal to information about club drugs from MedLine Plus.

Cocaine

MedlinePlus: Cocaine: Provides a variety of different resources for medical information about cocaine.

National Institute on Drug Abuse: Cocaine Abuse and Addiction: General information about cocaine, its effects and how it is used in the United States.

Hallucinogens

National Institute on Drug Abuse: Hallucinogens and Dissociative Drugs: General introduction to hallucinogens.

Inhalants

National Institute on Drug Abuse: Inhalant Abuse: General introduction to inhalant abuse.

Marijuana

MedlinePlus: Marijuana: On this page, MedlinePlus provides a variety of links to medical information about marijuana grouped by source type.

National Institute on Drug Abuse: Marijuana: General introduction to marijuana.

National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws: Website for the nonprofit organization NORML with information about marijuana as well as efforts to legalize it.

Methamphetamine

Medline Plus: Methamphetamine: This guide to methamphetamine resources provides access to overviews, medical information, news, research and journal articles about methamphetamine.

Opiates

The Journal of the American Medical Association: Opioid Abuse: This article provides introductory information about opiate abuse.

National Institute on Drug Abuse: Heroin: Abuse and Addiction: A general introduction to heroin.

Subject Guide

William Hoag's picture
William Hoag
Contact:
Roxbury Community College Library
Room 211 Academic Building
1234 Columbus Ave.
Boston, MA 02120-3400
Phone: 857-701-1386
Website

Library Hours

Library Hours

On Campus Hours

By reservation only!

Monday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Tuesday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Wednesday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Thursday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Friday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Saturday: CLOSED

Sunday: CLOSED

Virtual Hours

Monday: 8:30 - 8:00 pm
Tuesday: 8:30 - 8:00 pm
Wednesday: 8:30 - 8:00 pm
Thursday: 8:30 - 8:00 pm
Friday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm
Saturday: 8:30 - 3:00 pm

You can find the services we offer at a distance via Zoom, Teams, and other internet-based methods on our remote services page.

 

Evening class instruction available by request. To see if the RCC Library is closed on school holidays and semester breaks, please consult the Library Calendar.

Contact Us

857-701-1380

or via text at 857-877-2255

library1@rcc.mass.edu

1234 Columbus Avenue
Building 3, Room 211
Boston, MA 02120