Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gay Rights: Web Resources

RCC Library

1234 Columbus Avenue
Building 3, Room 211A
Boston, MA 02120
Phone: 857-701-1380
Email: library1@rcc.mass.edu

Search the Web

Google Web Search

Web Resources

Gay Rights Advocacy Groups

American Civil Liberties Union: Lesbian & Gay Rights, Relationships (ACLU) The LGBT project of the ACLU moves public opinion on rights through the courts, legislatures and public education; this site includes legal documents from key court cases and both state and federal legislation on gay rights.

Gay and Lesbian Activists Alliance (GLAA) America's oldest organization devoted to gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender civil rights; this site includes links to current news stories, as well as coverage of state and federal legislation on gay rights and testimonies of same-sex couples.

Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD) Formed in 1985, this group works to promote fair and accurate representation of people and events in the media; this site includes current news stories and resources to advocate for inclusiveness in media broadcasting.

Human Rights Campaign The largest organization devoted to equal rights for gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender Americans, the HRC advocates and mobilizes grassroots organizations in communities and works to educate the public about LGBT issues; this site includes links to current news stories, as well as coverage of state and federal legislation on gay rights in many aspects of society.

Gay and Trans Rights and Massachusetts

Massachusetts Law About Transgender Rights

Massachusetts Census Snapshot on gay couples in Massachusetts from the Williams Institute at the UCLA School of Law

Gay Rights and Public Opinion

Pew Research Center Gay Marriage and Homosexuality polls page.

Gay Rights and Religious Organizations

American Family Association A Christian organization that promotes Christian values and public policy goals, including the reaffirmation of marriage as the union of one man and one woman; this site includes free access to the AFA online journal and full-text articles, current news articles and media coverage, state and federal legislation on same-sex marriage, as well as streaming video of lectures sponsored by onenewsnow.com.

Focus on the Family A Christian organization focusing on Christian ministry and values, in relation to all aspects of life and society, including same-sex marriage; this site includes resources and media that promote the reaffirmation of marriage as the union of one man and one woman.

The Heritage Foundation This foundation is a public policy research institute with a mission to formulate and promote conservative public policies based on traditional American values. The site includes reports, fact sheets, commentaries, testimonies, lectures and multimedia.

Subject Guide

William Hoag's picture
William Hoag
Contact:
Roxbury Community College Library
Room 211 Academic Building
1234 Columbus Ave.
Boston, MA 02120-3400
Phone: 857-701-1386
Website

Library Hours

Library Hours

On Campus Hours

By reservation only!

Monday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Tuesday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Wednesday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Thursday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Friday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm

Saturday: CLOSED

Sunday: CLOSED

Virtual Hours

Monday: 8:30 - 8:00 pm
Tuesday: 8:30 - 8:00 pm
Wednesday: 8:30 - 8:00 pm
Thursday: 8:30 - 8:00 pm
Friday: 8:30 - 5:00 pm
Saturday: 8:30 - 3:00 pm

You can find the services we offer at a distance via Zoom, Teams, and other internet-based methods on our remote services page.

 

Evening class instruction available by request. To see if the RCC Library is closed on school holidays and semester breaks, please consult the Library Calendar.

Contact Us

857-701-1380

or via text at 857-877-2255

library1@rcc.mass.edu

1234 Columbus Avenue
Building 3, Room 211
Boston, MA 02120