Citation Guide

Editors Marta Deyrup and Beth Bloom have brought together well-known educators from the fields of library science, communication, composition, and education to show you how to develop successful strategies for teaching undergraduates how to conduct basic research and write papers. Chapters cover each step of the research process, beginning appropriately with separate pieces from a librarian and from an academic on how to construct good research assignments. Following chapters cover establishing the research question, assessing the research process, information ethics and the protocols of research, and using new modes and media to communicate research findings. The book fully explores current theories on pedagogy and provides practical demonstrations of how library instruction can reinforce critical thinking and set the groundwork in place for life-long learning. Each chapter contains an extensive bibliography for further reading.

Who Says? The Writer's Research is the first, brief research guide to focus on information literacy by teaching college students not only how to do research but also why research is important.Written for today's college student, Who Says? addresses contemporary research issues head on: What does it mean to conduct research in an age when we are bombarded by collaborative information, through online media and databases like Wikipedia? Who owns this information? How do we know? Asinformation circulates and changes, do the lines between audience and author blur? And how should these changes alter our expectations as readers - and as writers?By prompting students to think critically about matters of ownership and authority, Who Says? not only shows students how to find and incorporate credible sources in their writing, but also how to synthesize their own ideas with the ideas of others, which leads them to develop more confident andcompelling voices as writers.The first two chapters of Who Says? foreground this pressing need for information literacy by engaging students with the problem of research-writing in digital environments: "What is Information?: An Introduction," and "Says Who? The Writer's Authority, The Writer's Voice," engage students inbroader global conversations about the nature of research writing, while also addressing the writer's important role in academic conversations. To reinforce these larger topics, throughout every chapter in Who Says? there are also a number of practical, hands-on activities for students to workthrough, such as "Ideas Into Practice," including visuals, charts, checklists and exercises - all of which are designed to help students improve their writing and research while in class, and then help them transfer and adapt their writing knowledge to other college courses.

Research fuels innovation--and with this focused guide to Microsoft Word, you can help increase your team's collaborative power and effectiveness, and bring new research to life. Writing proposals, reports, journal articles, theses, and other technical documents as a team poses unique challenges, not the least of which is consistent presentation and voice. You must also manage the formatting and accuracy of figures, equations, and citations, and comply with the style rules of external publications. In this book you'll learn from the authors' extensive experience managing the authoring and publication of technical content, and gain specific practices and templates you can apply right away. Focuses on the unique challenges of writing and producing documents in an academic or commercial R&D setting Demonstrates how to use Microsoft Word to increase the quality of collaborative document preparation--including formatting, editing, citations management, commenting, and version control Includes downloadable templates that help automate creation of scientific documents Offers best-practices guidance for writing in teams and writing in the scientific genre

Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements?facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date?that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers, and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts?middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields?the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers ?New chapters on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, abbreviations, and principles of inclusive language ?Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group project ?Revised, comprehensive, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format that are easier to learn and use than ever before ?A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more ?Detailed examples of how to find publication information for a variety of sources ?Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including comprehensive advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work ?Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes ?Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism ?A sample essay in MLA format ?Annotated bibliography examples ?Numbered sections throughout for quick navigation ?Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars

The POCKET GUIDE TO APA STYLE, 6th Edition is your essential tool for writing research papers in every course you take. Concise and thorough, the POCKET GUIDE offers straightforward explanations, annotated examples, and margin notes designed to help you write properly documented papers in the latest APA style. This practical resource is less expensive and easier to use than the APA Manual. It also includes extensive and up-to-date coverage of electronic sources, preparing you to evaluate and use Internet references correctly in your research.

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioural sciences. It provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias in language. Well-known for its authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures and tone that will result in strong, simple, and elegant scientific communication. The Sixth Edition offers new and expanded instruction on publication ethics, statistics, journal article reporting standards, electronic reference formats, and the construction of tables and figures. The Sixth Edition has been revised and updated to include new ethics guidance on such topics as determining authorship and terms of collaboration, duplicate publication, plagiarism and self-plagiarism, disguising of participants, validity of instrumentation, and making data available to others for verification; new journal article reporting standards to help readers report empirical research with clarity and precision; simplified APA heading style to make it more conducive to electronic publication; updated guidelines for reducing bias in language to reflect current practices and preferences, including a new section on presenting historical language that is inappropriate by present standards; new guidelines for reporting inferential statistics and a significantly revised table of statistical abbreviations new instruction on using supplemental files containing lengthy data sets and other media; significantly expanded content on the electronic presentation of data to help readers understand the purpose of each kind of display and choose the best match for communicating the results of the investigation, with new examples for a variety of data displays, including electrophysiological and biological data; consolidated information on all aspects of reference citations, with an expanded discussion of electronic sources emphasising the role of the digital object identifier (DOI) as a reliable way to locate information; and expanded discussion of the publication process, including the function and process of peer review; a discussion of ethical, legal, and policy requirements in publication; and guidelines on working with the publisher while the article is in press. Key to this edition of the Publication Manual is an updated and expanded Web presence. Visit the APA Style web site to Look up additional supplemental material keyed to the book Test your knowledge of APA Style with a free tutorial on style basics Learn about the changes in the sixth edition with a free tutorial reviewing key revisions Sign up for an on-line course to enrich and enhance your understanding of APA Style Read the APA Style blog and share your comments on writing and referencing Consult frequently asked questions to sharpen your understanding of APA Style Examine additional resources on such topics as ethics, statistics, and writing Familiarise yourself with submission standards for APA books and journals What''s New in the Sixth Edition? Book has been updated to acknowledge and incorporate advances in computer technology. New discussions of the creation, submission, and storage of supplemental data. New guidelines for referencing electronic sources. New and expanded reference examples for a variety of on-line sources. Redesigned APA Style website, expanded to provide tutorials, on-line courses, and other resources for learning APA style. Book has been reorganised and streamlined for ease of use Organised to describe the writing process from idea to publication, it begins with background information on ethical issues in publishing, then moves on to manuscript structure and content, then writing style and rules, then graphics and references, then guidance on working with the publisher. Sample paper section has been moved up and featured to better exemplify manuscript structure and content Like discussions have been moved to one place in the book, with discussions of function followed by instruction on form. Focus has been broadened to include readers in the behavioural and social sciences. Information specific to APA has been moved to the web, where it is more broadly accessible and can be updated frequently. New examples throughout the book have been drawn from publications in education, business, and nursing as well as psychology.