Skip to main content

SCI 133 -Environmental Science -Ghaemghami: Articles

Providing information of environmental science, issues and opportunities in the environmental industry. Topics: ecological principles, sustainability, ecosystems, biodiversity, human population and its impact, pollution, and governmental regulations, envi

Academic vs Popular Articles and Journals

Popular Literature vs. Scholarly Peer-Reviewed Literature: What's the Difference?

Purpose

  • Academic: To communicate research and scholarly ideas
  • Popular: To inform and entertain the general reader

Audience

  • Academic: Scholars and students
  • Popular: The general public

Scope

  • Academic: Very narrow and specific subjects
  • Popular: Broad variety of public interest topics, cross disciplinary

Authors

  • Academic: Scholars, researchers, experts, usually listed with their institutional affiliation
  • Popular: Employees of the publication, freelancers (including journalists and scholars)

Characteristics

  • Academic:
  1. Little or no background information given
  2. Technical language and discipline-specific jargon
  3. Peer reviewed
  4. Bibliography/References/Citations included
  5. Procedures and materials often described in detail
  6. Articles are longer, often over 5 pages
  • Popular:
  1. Little technical language or jargon
  2. Few or no cited references
  3. No bibliography
  4. General summaries of background information
  5. Contain numerous advertisements
  6. Articles are usually brief; between 1-7 pages

RCC Library

1234 Columbus Avenue
Building 3, Room 211A
Boston, MA 02120
Phone: 857-701-1380
Email: library1@rcc.mass.edu

Search the Web

MEDLINE

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.

Science Full Text Select

Contains access to 320 full text science journals covering all fields of science. Offers a broad range of science literature to students on the community college level.

Biomedical Reference Collection

Provides access to 100 full text journals covering such disciplines as clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the preclinical sciences.

Science In Context

Supporting high school curricula and university coursework, Science in Context features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.

Green File

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection

Subject Guide

Totsaporn Intarabumrung's picture
Totsaporn Intarabumrung
chat loading...
Contact:
1234 Columbus Ave., Boston, MA 02120-3400
857-701-1385
Website

Library Hours

Monday - Thursday: 7:30 - 9:00

Friday: 7:30 - 4:30

Saturday: 8:30 - 3:00