Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources: Copyright

Creative Commons

Copyright: Copyright is a form of protection provided by the laws of the United States (title 17, U.S.Code) to the authors of “original works of authorship,” including literary, dramatic, musical, artistic, and certain other intellectual works.

Intellectual Property: Intellectual property (IP) refers to creations of the mind, such as inventions; literary and artistic works; designs; and symbols, names and images used in commerce.

To learn more:

RCC library Copyright research guide

U.S.Copyright Office FAQ's page

 

Fair Use: A limitation and exception to the exclusive right granted by copyright law to the author of a creative work. In United States copyright law, fair use is a doctrine that permits limited use of copyrighted material without acquiring permission from the rights holders. Examples of fair use include commentary, search engines, criticism, parody, news reporting, research, teaching, library archiving and scholarship.

US Copyright Law

Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Academic and Research Libraries: The Association of Research Libraries' Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Academic and Research Libraries, is a clear and easy-to-use statement of fair and reasonable approaches to fair use developed by and for librarians who support academic inquiry and higher education. The Code was developed in partnership with the Center for Social Media and the Washington College of Law at American University.

The Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Media Literacy Education: This document is a code of best practices that helps educators using media literacy concepts and techniques to interpret the copyright doctrine of fair use.

Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Online Video: This document is a code of best practices that helps creators, online providers, copyright holders, and others interested in the making of online video interpret the copyright doctrine of fair use.

Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Scholarly Research in Communication: This document is a code of best practices that helps U.S. communication scholars to interpret the copyright doctrine of fair use.

Copyright and Fair Use: Stanford University Libraries: The Stanford Copyright & Fair Use site includes primary case law, statutes, regulations, as well as current feeds of newly filed copyright lawsuits, pending legislation, regulations, copyright office news, scholarly articles, blog and twitter feeds from practicing attorneys and law professors.

Its emphasis is on copyright issues especially relevant to the education and library community, including examples of fair use and policies.  - See more at: http://fairuse.stanford.edu/about/#sthash.NeQ3b4hx.dpuf

The Stanford Copyright & Fair Use site was started by Mike Keller, Vicky Reich and Tim Stanley in 1996 to support a talk that Mike was about to give. The talk was about the Michigan Documents Services case and whether it was Fair Use for a local copyshop to make coursepacks for university students. The idea for the site was proposed on a Wednesday and the site was up and running by the next Monday.

It’s grown a bit over the years, and today includes primary case law, statutes, regulations, as well as current feeds of newly filed copyright lawsuits, pending legislation, regulations, copyright office news, scholarly articles, blog and twitter feeds from practicing attorneys and law professors.

- See more at: http://fairuse.stanford.edu/about/#sthash.HDkm5UB1.dp

The Stanford Copyright & Fair Use site was started by Mike Keller, Vicky Reich and Tim Stanley in 1996 to support a talk that Mike was about to give. The talk was about the Michigan Documents Services case and whether it was Fair Use for a local copyshop to make coursepacks for university students. The idea for the site was proposed on a Wednesday and the site was up and running by the next Monday.

It’s grown a bit over the years, and today includes primary case law, statutes, regulations, as well as current feeds of newly filed copyright lawsuits, pending legislation, regulations, copyright office news, scholarly articles, blog and twitter feeds from practicing attorneys and law professors.

- See more at: http://fairuse.stanford.edu/about/#sthash.HDkm5UB1.dpuf

The Copyright Page: The Server has been online since March 1997. It provides information about intellectual property law including patent, trademark and copyright.  Resources include comprehensive links, general information, space for professionals to publish articles and forums for discussing related issues.

Cornell University Law School Legal Information Institute: The Institute is a not-for-profit group that believes everyone should be able to read and understand the laws that govern them, without cost.

American University Center for Social Media - Fair Use Best Practices: The Center for Media & Social Impact at American University, formerly the Center for Social Media, is an innovation lab and research center that studies, designs, and showcases media for social impact. Focusing on independent, documentary and public media, the Center bridges boundaries between scholars, producers and communication practitioners across media production, media impact, public policy and audience engagement.

General Online Guides to Copyright

Columbia University - Copyright Advisory Office: Its central function is to address in an innovative, creative, and pragmatic manner the relationship between copyright law and the work of the university community.

Copyright Crash Course: A copyright guide from the University of Texas.

Library Copyright Alliance: The Library Copyright Alliance (LCA) members are the American Library Association, the Association of Research Libraries, and the Association of College and Research Libraries. Content and resources found on this site reflect the voice of LCA and its members on copyright and related intellectual property laws and treaties, nationally and internationally.

Getting Permission to Use Materials Under Copyright

Columbia University Copyright Advisory Office: These model permission letters are developed by the Center for Digital Research and Scholarship.

The WATCH File: The WATCH File is a database to be used for locating copyright holders. WATCH is run jointly by the Harry Ransom Center and Reading University Library.

Public Domain and Orphan Works

Copyright Term and the Public Domain in the United States

Duke University Center for The Study of the Public Domain

Duration and the Public Domain

The Public Domain [Stanford University]

Public Domain [University of California]

Tales from the Public Domain

Columbia University Copyright Advisory Office: If you cannot find the owner

Copyright: Orphan Works

Copyright Crash Course: The Public Domain and Orphan Works

Copyright Organizations

Association for College and Research Libraries Copyright Committee: Association for College and Research Libraries Copyright Committee Web Pages reflect the committee's charge: "To elicit the concerns of ACRL members on copyright and to gather information aboaut copyright issues that impinge upon academic libraries; to bring before the ACRL Board issues and problems that may require legal action or interpretation on the part of ACRL; to represent ACRL when necessary in forums about copyright; to work with and appoint liaisons to ACRL Government Relations Committee, ALA's Copyright Subcommittee [now Intellectual Property Subcommittee] and when appropriate, other library or education copyright organizations.

Association of Research Libraries: ARL provides overview information concerning many areas of copyright as it affects higher education and scholarly communication.

Center for Intellectual Property, University of Maryland: The Center for Intellectual Property provides education, research, and resources for the higher education community on copyright, academic integrity, and the emerging digital environment.

Conference on Fair Use (CONFU): The Conference on Fair Use final report and discussion of guidelines are available on this page, created by the University of Texas Office of General Counsel.

Copyright Advisory Network: Organized by the American Library Association Washington Office, the Copyright Advisory Network provides discussion and advice regarding copyright issues through a group of knowledgable Copyright Scholars.

Copyright Clearance Center: Also known as CCC, this organization offers permissions services and a variety of services for copyright owners.

Digital Futures Coalition: The 42 member Digital Future Coalition (DFC) is committed to preserving the time- tested balance between the rights of owners of intellectual property and the traditional use privileges of the public. Created in 1995, the DFC is a unique collaboration of many of the nation's leading non-profit educational, scholarly, library and consumer groups, together with major commercial trade associations representing leaders in the consumer electronics, telecommunications, computer and network access industries. Thus, the DFC membership represents both the owners and users of intellectual property.

United States Copyright Office: Here you will find all our key publications, including informational circulars; application forms for copyright registration; links to the copyright law and to the home pages of other copyright-related organizations; news of what the Office is doing, including Congressional testimony and press releases; our latest regulations; a link to our online copyright records cataloged since 1978; and much more.

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO): The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is an intergovernmental organization with headquarters in Geneva, Switzerland. It is one of the 16 specialized agencies of the United Nations system of organizations. WIPO is responsible for the promotion of the protection of intellectual property throughout the world through cooperation among States, and for the administration of various multilateral treaties dealing with the legal and administrative aspects of intellectual property. The site contains the text of the WIPO Treaty on Copyright.

Loading ...

Library Director

William Hoag's picture
William Hoag
Contact:
Roxbury Community College Library
Room 211 Academic Building
1234 Columbus Ave.
Boston, MA 02120-3400
Phone: 857-701-1386
Website