Skip to main content

Faculty Services and Resources: Resources

Books and DVDs

You can access our collection through our Online Catalog on the library’s home page.  If you have difficulty locating an item, our professional staff will be more than happy to assist you. All faculty and staff may borrow circulating material for one month, which can be renewed.  Periodicals can also be taken out for the same length. For more information, click here.

Library Classroom -- Outside Use

Our library classroom has an instructor computer attached to an overhead projector as well as 22 computers for student use.  If you need to use our library classroom for one of your class sessions, please email the library or use our Library Classroom scheduler, which is found on the Instruction Page of this guide.  The library classroom cannot be reserved for outside use more than a week in advance.   Priority will always be given to library-instruction sessions.  

Resources

The Library puts books on Reserve which are in high demand and required for courses. These books may be from the Library's collection or instructors' personal copies. A faculty member may request that a book be put on reserve. To put materials on reserve, fill out a Reserve Materials Form. Leave the form and the book(s) with a staff member at the Circulation Desk or a librarian at the Reference Desk.

Faculty members should expect to be contacted by their liaison librarian before the start of each semester about reserves, and they should email their liaison with any additional questions. Items are placed on reserve on a semester by semester basis. All items will be removed from reserves at the end of the semester. Instructors can choose to have their personal items returned to them or donated to the library. You must fill a form out each semester you want your book(s) on reserve. Summer I and Summer II are considered separate semesters.

  • Please allow 72 hours for processing.
  • Personal items put on reserve will have a non-removable barcode and security strip attached to them. Personal materials are placed on reserve at the owner's risk.     
  • Instructors are responsible for determining whether their use of copyrighted materials falls under Fair Use.
  • The library accepts books for current semester only; we cannot hold onto books faculty wish to place on reserve in a later semester.
  • You can find a list of books currently on reserve by selecting the Reserves tab in the Online Catalog. Search by professor's name or course name or course number.
  • Students may check out books on reserve at the Circulation Desk with their RCC ID. The books may be used in the library only. Instructors can chose to have their books circulate for 2 hours or all day until the library closes. 

Our equipment for loan includes LCD projectors, TV's, dvd/VHS players, overhead projectors, camcorders, laptops and more

Faculty and staff may borrow media materials and equipment for classroom instruction. To avoid disappointment, media materials should be previewed prior to use. 

To increase the likelihood of equipment availability, make requests three days in advance. Requests are honored on a "first come first served" basis. We encourage you to plan ahead. Same day walk-in requests are allowed but discouraged.  

Semester Equipment Loans are available for frequent users of the same equipment. Borrowers are always responsible for equipment security. Equipment must be returned to the Library for maintenance at the end of the semester. The Library may recall semester loan equipment for emergency use.

The Library accepts responsibility for maintenance and repair of all Library equipment. Please report broken equipment and all equipment dropped in transport.

The Library also offers equipment training and audio and videotape recording sessions. These require a two-week notice.

To reserve media materials and equipment:
Fill out a media request form at the Help Desk and leave it at the Circulation Desk.  The online form is not currently available.  To request reserves online, please fill out the form below and email it to rmorales@rcc.mass.edu.  

Please note: Use of Library media equipment and materials, that is not in support of teaching, learning or authorized college activities or which does not comply with Library policies or U.S. copyright law, is not authorized by the College.

The Roxbury Community College Library strives to provide collections designed for active use by our students and campus community; to this end, the Library assesses its print, audio-visual, and electronic resources collections in relationship to the curriculum, student learning needs, standards for community colleges, and planned methods of instruction.

We welcome your material suggestions. If there is material that the Library does not currently own, and you would like to suggest its purchase in support of your curriculum, please fill out the Materials Suggestion Form. This form will be evaluated for possible approval; please note that submission of this form does not guarantee purchase. You can also contact your library liaison to talk about resources needed to support your curriculum.  

 

Interlibrary Loan for Books

If you cannot find the book you need in the RCC Library, try the Boston Public Library or another community college or state college library. Your RCC library card allows you to borrow from any library in the HELM network. 

If you want us to borrow a book for you from another library, make out an request in person at the Circulation Desk, by phone at 857-701-1380 or using the book request form. We will contact you when the book is received. It usually takes a week or two. The lending library establishes the length of time you can keep the book.

Document Delivery for Articles

If you need an article that is not available through the RCC library in hard copy or in a database, ask a librarian which local library has the article. The RCC Library can get a copy of virtually any article you may want and send it to your email address. You can make a in person at the Circulation Desk, by phone at 857-701-1380 or using the article request form.

ComCat (Commonwealth Catalog) https://commonwealthcatalog.org/mvc/

ComCat is the state run catalog that lets you log in and place holds on books from libraries all across the state. From the website: "With access to millions of titles, the Commonwealth Catalog extends your library’s reach to all participating libraries throughout Massachusetts, with convenient pick-up at your local library."  You should use ComCat after you have checked the RCC library or HELM network for material.

Links:

ComCat

Instructions to login

FAQ

You can place holds on material and pick it up at the RCC library.  You have access to millions of items from library networks across the state.  Below are the participating library networks:

  • Bridgewater State University
  • CLAMS, Cape Libraries Automated Materials Sharing
  • C/W MARS, Central/Western Massachusetts Automated Resource Sharing
  • FLO, Fenway Libraries Online
  • MBLN, Metro Boston Library Network (including the Boston Public Library)
  • MLN, Minuteman Library Network
  • MVLC, Merrimack Valley Library Consortium
  • NOBLE, North of Boston Library Exchange
  • OCLN, Old Colony Library Network
  • SAILS Library Network
  • University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Loading ...

Electronic Resources

The Library provides access to many databases to meet your research needs. Whether your research topic is broad or specific, we have a database to assist you in your research. You can access the databases, both from home and on campus, by going to the Library’s homepage and clicking on Articles & eJournals under the Books, Articles and Videos tab.  We will be happy to assist you with searching the databases if you need assistance. These databases are a great resource for both you and your students, give them a try!